What are Runes?

Runes are letters from an alphabet that was used by people in Northern Europe in former times. Rune Stones come in a set of 24 ancient alphabetic symbols. They can be made of different materials – wood or glass most common and attractive – and usually kept in a pouch or box. They usually come with a book of instructions defining the symbols. They were carved on wood or stone and were believed to have magical powers.
Meanings of each Runestone:-

BLANK RUNE: Sometimes called “Odin’s Rune”:
Anything is possible and can happen. The sum total of who you are, what you have done, and what you have become. Choose a direction and go for it. The blank Rune was added to the others in the 1980s. It shows that as humanity has grown – the possibilities are beyond what was conceived by the original Runes. Some people include the blank Rune in a reading – while others leave it out! I prefer to leave it in as the Universe has limitless possibilities!! If you get this Rune – and you believe in yourself – you can manifest anything.

FEHU – F: Cattle
Abundance through effort, the inheritance of self and self-value, material gain, earned income. This means success, happiness and wealth.

OTHALA – O: Ancestral property – Inheritance
Freedom and independence through releasing ideas and things that keep you ‘stuck’. You will feel ‘free’. You will inherit from someone.

DAGAZ – D: Daylight or Dawn.
A new day begins and you go to work. You become more insightful, breaking through your new ideas. Light is around you, which cannot be reversed!

INGWAZ – NG: Fertility
This symbol is usually for a new life – a pregnancy. Finish what you are doing, tie up loose ends and start something new.

LAGUZ – L: Water – Emotions
The moon, the flow of emotions and all things into the collective unconscious – all bodies of water – Aquarius – feminine energies – higher mind, spirituality, health and healing – a time of cleansing.

MANNAZ – M: The nature of Humanity
The self and its place in the collective conscience of humanity. We are all part of the collective unconscious – we are all One. Your attitude towards them and their attitudes towards you. Take this time for personal reflection.

URUZ – U: Brute Strength
Strength, home love on all sides, health, changes, a forceful masculine archetype.

THURISAZ – TH: The seeing of the future
Opening the door or gate to see the future, luck reflection for action, protection. You will see the truth.

ANSUZ – A: references the ancestral god, Odin.
Message from within (listen to your ‘little voice’), advice from others, a chance encounter, careful thought so you will know what to do from this point in time
Reversed: Watch out for trickery, the dark side of yourself when others interfering with your plans, or there is failed communication

RAIDHO – R: Journey
You’re about to embark on a journey – either in the physical world or a journey of your soul to heal something that needs healing.

KENAZ – K: Beacon or torch.
When you feel in the dark – this rune will bring an opening, to help you open to who you are and your highest possibilities. From the darkness – light will come.

GEBO – G: Gift of Harmonic Relationships
Unity with self and all others – especially with our higher selves, nature and all things around us.

WUNJO – W or V: Bliss and Glory
You do not need anybody. Peace, pleasure, self-worth, joy and serenity, happy results, harmony, prosperity

HAGALAZ – H: Destructive forces
This refers to the destructive forces of nature and things that are out of our control.

NAUTHIZ – N: The Negatives of Human Needs
Caution, hold, coming in touch with a side of you that you may not like, resistance, distress, delay, constraint or restraint. Reflect on how bad things can and appreciate what you have. The improper course of action, think twice before acting, don’t make hasty judgments!!

ISA – I: Ice
Frozen in time, calm, non-action, everything on hold, letting go of ego and seeking your inner truths, you are blocked by your emotions.

JIRA – J or Y: The Cycle of One Year
Reaping of a reward when your world seems stagnant, harvest the seeds you have planted, gain, fruition, things happening in their own time and space when they are supposed to!

EIHWAZ – EI: Yew Tree
Stability, doing the right things, patience, perseverance, endurance. Decided what is the right way to get the things accomplished in your life. Cannot be reversed.

PERTHRO – P: Initiation, Things Unexplained, Something Hidden
A hieratic or mystery rune pointing to that which is beyond our frail manipulative powers.

Perth is associated with the Phoenix, the mystical bird which consumes itself in the fire then rises from its own ashes. Its ways are secret and hidden. Powerful forces of change are at work here. Yet what is achieved is not easily or readily shared. After all becoming whole – the means of it – is a profound secret. On the side of the Earthly or mundane, there may well be surprises, gains or rewards that you did not anticipate. On the side of human nature, this Rune is symbolized by the flight of the eagle. Soaring flight, free from entanglement, lifting yourself above the endless ebb and flow of ordinary life to acquire broader vision – all this is indicated here.
Perth stands for the heart of Initiation – Nothing external matters here, except as it shows you in its inner reflection. This Rune is concerned with the deepest stratum of our being, the bedrock on which our destiny is founded. For some Perth means experiencing some form of death – or transition. It is a letting go of everything, no exceptions, no exclusions. Nothing less than the renewal of the Spirit is at stake.
Hidden information and truths, mysteries, esoteric, that which is unknown on a conscious level, it could come into the light and you would understand the ‘higher meaning’ of things.

Do not repeat the old – let it go!
The initiation – the veils of the illusion are being lifted – let the old ways go!
Stay centred, see the humour and keep your faith firm.

Spirit guides – (How interesting as my guide is Zoroaster and I call him Z!) – protection, fortunate new influence, making the connection with spirit and working through your issues.

SOWILO – S: The Sun
The circle is completion – wholeness, the sun, the path to awareness and self-knowledge. See you ‘dark side’ – that which makes you destructive to yourself and others. Seek change to heal and be complete with yourself.

TEIWAZ – T: Tyr, the sky god.
To be successful in competition, very motivated, finding the spiritual or transcendental self.

BERKANA – B: Birch-goddess
To be prepared, cautious in what you do. Also, reference your family and home.

EHWAZ – E: The Sacred Horse
The balance of things in the universe, stability, move forward carefully focusing on the tools that will help you get there

So, these are the names and the true meanings of each Rune. These all are unique in themselves. They know everything about you. You can understand your life with their help. You can understand the purpose which brings you in this world. These Runes can explain to you that how much special you are for yourself and the rest world? These ancient symbols are great and awesome as well.